Fun Date Ideas in Toronto (At home & in the city!) – 2019

Since I am 18, in debt, and really stingy – the best date ideas are the ones that doesn’t cost a lot.

In this article, I list some of my favorite dates to go with my boyfriend that we do more than once and it never gets old! Btw we both live near Vaughn and so distance and effort to reach these destinations may differ.

1.) Evergreen Works – Free

Taking walks among nature never gets old! My boyfriend and I love the serenity of this place. Its beautiful anytime of the year. To mix things up when going to Evergreen works – the farmers market, and Tastemaker also take place at this place! Also, you can take your bikes to ride among the long trails, and there is a small shop that not only fixes your bike for a small cost but, also teaches you how to fix it! Not to mention there are a few cozy cafes with patios there and a small shop of novelty items and home hardware. This place is also dog friendly, and since we have two dogs – taking walks with them and sitting by the patio eating and drinking coffee is the best in the Spring to Fall!

1.2) Tastemaker Toronto at Evergreen works – $45/$55 (Early bird) & $55/$65 (normal price)

The admission is quite pricey but, it takes place only once a year so why not? The food is amazing and the experience is great with music and scenery. After eating and dancing – a nice walk at the park is the best thing ever. Definitely a more cozy and calm food festival compared to others and definitely a lot smaller. Tastemaker was launched in 2018 so it has yet to have a huge following – definitely recommend going this year before it gets really busy in the future!

2.) Cineplex Family Favourites (selected theatres) – $2.99

On Saturdays, my boyfriend and I – after a long day of work the day before, we like to wake up early and go see a movie and eat snacks. It is quite relaxing since its not a a lot of people, and we usually go in our sweats and pajamas lol. They offer quite new movies and the proceeds go to the ME to WE foundation!

3.) Eating Raw Marinated Crabs at Jung Soo Ne! $14.99 for a plate of two + other dishes

You might be wondering this is a weird date idea – eating marinated crabs lol. But trust me, it is an experience! A food experience. The restaurant itself is very cozy and there are many great side dishes (Banchan) and I love how authentic tasting the food is! I usually just go with my boyfriend to eat 3 dishes (including the raw marinated crabs) and get lettuce wraps to go along with our food. Btw raw marinated crabs are considered a delicacy in Korea. And it is fairly salty ( you eat it with rice and wraps) It is really hard to get this dish in any Korean restaurant in Toronto. Jung Soo Ne offers a spicy version as well which is just as delicious!

4.) Game Board Cafes – $10 to $20

I love visiting different game board cafes in Toronto. Especially the little tiny ones in the city. Many of which are hidden gems with good coffee and some really retro board games. Pricing differs among each cafe but usually the cost for just my boyfriend and I are usually under 20 bucks.

5.) Wonderland – and Pho! – ticket sales differ every year (check website for details)

I love going to Wonderland all summer long. Especially since my boyfriend lives in Vaughn. I usually get the seasons pass with my boyfriend so we can go all the time. Ticket prices have been increasing in the past years so its best to consider how many times you can realistically go to Wonderland and get your money’s worth. I love going on roller coasters and getting funnel cake. The water park isn’t that bad as well! Usually for my boyfriend and I, one of us will get a seasons pass and the other will just buy the normal priced ticket with the friend discount that comes with the pass (saving money at its finest lol)

6.) Toronto Islands – Free admission (Ferry ride: $10 – $15) & (bike rentals: $10 -$25)

I love going to Center Island for some good ice cream and a nice bike ride on those weird bicycle tractors lol. Its a good workout and riding along the island all day long with my boyfriend usually brings out some good laughs (btw jumping off of those four wheel bike cars is not a good idea) Food on the island can be pricey for some so I highly recommend doing a picnic and bringing food! There is also a nice beach there which I love going to in the summers! There is an urban legend among the sheltered Markham folk that there is a nude beach on the island but I never seen it lol

7.) Nachos + movie + painting figurines and car models

Recently, my boyfriend and I have been getting into painting and assembling little figurines and car models that he has been ordering from Japan. The car models are pretty sick and the process is long and hardy but its fun when your at home, talking, eating, and watching a good movie. A pretty cool at-home date idea when its cold or your just lazy!

8.) Street Food festivals! – Free admission

Every year, going to eat cheap-ish Asian food in Markham at these huge food festivals are guaranteed a good time. My boyfriend and I love getting cheap lamb skewers and stinky tofu (some find it gross I know lol) Prices are cheaper compared to getting it in a restaurant. Also, love the entertainment that comes with these Asian food festivals every year. Love watching talent competitions lol! My boyfriend says I find these festivals way more fun than anyone else and I think its because I love getting freebies haha. Here are a list of Street food festivals that I love going to every year! The experience and food is great. Endless vendors of great products as well! A whole day gone in an instant!

  • Taste of Asia (Markham)
  • Night it Up (Markham)
  • Taste of Danforth
  • Taste of Manila
  • Afrofest
  • Caribana
  • Taste of the Middle East

9.) CNE (Canadian National Exhibition) – Admission Fees range from $10 – $20

Love going to CNE in the summer! So much good food and I love looking at the vendors and getting my hands on some cheap clothes! In my opinion, games are not that worth it, but its cute to get a plushie from my boyfriend that tries really hard to win something for me lol. A bit pricey for admission, and also a little far for my boyfriend and I, but its only once a year.

10.) Ordering a snack box and watching movies at home – Range from $20 – $30 on Amazon

Foreign snack boxes from Japan and Korea are getting really popular. These boxes have snacks that aren’t that common across the rest of the world. For example, I ordered a Japanese snack box and it included so many snacks that are exclusive to regions in Japan that are known for a certain food like Sake gummies and hand-dried plums from the countryside. My boyfriend and I love trying these new snacks together and watching movies. A really great at-home date idea if you and your loved one are definite foodies.

Leave a comment