The Importance of Not Caring as much in your Everyday Life.

As someone who has chronic anxiety and depression, I feel that I care too much about my surroundings. Growing up, my psychiatrists always taught my mindfulness – to essentially connect yourself with your surroundings and your own body. However, when your super anxious, and you get panic attacks from triggers like being or talking to a lot of people, engaging yourself in new experiences like a class, or from even walking down a busy street. A helpful thing to do is not care so much.

It seems easier said than done which is partially true. However, from years of trying to fit in in school, and getting panic attacks from just talking to people as a receptionist because I am thinking – they think I am weird and unhelpful. The most important thing is to not care. Realize that caring about what people think of yourself when they don’t do anything important in YOUR LIFE won’t do your any good.

Being bullied in school, I often developed strong suicidal tendencies. I realized that caring so much about why people wanted to bully me and say such hurtful things; it was gonna hurt me less if I didn’t care about the reasons as to why they wanted to bully me.

I am not saying caring about things is bad, or negative towards living your everyday life, but for the reasons that won’t do you any good – caring less will help a lot. Just carrying on with your daily routine, doing positive things in your life to benefit yourself and not others – it can make a big difference in your perception of life and what is important.

Leave a comment